Martial Arts and the Power of Belief

Sal
2 min readOct 15, 2021
With thanks to Sam Moqadam via Unsplash

I had spent the previous four hours in an incredibly heightened state. Basically, I was a nervous wreck. And right there and then, I could feel pains in my chest.

I remember thinking I was having a heart attack, surrounded by hundreds of people, most of them much younger than me. I also remember feeling stupid, out of place and inadequate.

My opponent, by my estimation, was in his mid-thirties. I was pushing 45, and feeling it. Taekwondo had always been a love of mine but the competitions always made me feel stressed and anxious.

I did the breathing thing. Box breathing. I had read somewhere that marines practised box breathing before battle. So I counted my breaths and told myself I was a warrior.

It didn’t help.

It’s all about what you believe

Thanks to Uriel Soberanes via Unsplash

I had also read something else. I’d read that if you believe something will happen, it most likely will. Years earlier I had believed I had a shot at winning a national short story contest.

Everyone around me said I had no chance. If they didn’t say that, they told me not to get my hopes up. The other…

--

--

Sal

Here to help you wake up, smell the gasoline, and help others with your experience.